~*~A B C of Photography~*~

Posted: December 30, 2008 in Hobbies Club, Photography Club

photographer

I am not at all photogenic and so avoid getting within the frame of any photo. I have tried everything. Well, it’s a different story that like any normal person, in any photograph, my eyes search and stop at my own image, only to get that “awww” feeling. I have seen luckier ones. I have seen marriages being fixed just based on a snap! I have seen people adding people to friend circle on various community sites based on their snaps. This led me to probe the matter. Hence, I decided to research and research I did for years. And while I sat under the apple tree, and apple fell on my head, the ABC of things-going-wrong for me dawned upon me! So, this review is for all those who are sailing in the same Titanic as me. Let us get better snaps clicked to make this world a better place.

So here is the new age ABC of Photography

A for Angle: Yes, maybe I need to stand at the correct angle especially when I am blessed with more width than height. The falling apple enlightened me to the fact that the angle should be 47 degrees to the camera. That will be just right to convert me into a perfect figure! But the most important thing is that try to take your photos from above or below your subject. Some of the best shots are taken sitting on a chair or kneeling on the ground.

91

B for Backlit:For a glowing silhouette effect, have your subject stand in front of a widow or sunny sky. Be sure to use your flash with this one.

C for Chronology:Take pictures form the beginning to the end of each event, rather than isolating short to “picture taking time”

D for Diagonal Lines: Arrange people to form a visual triangle, to create balance and a sense of movement in your pictures. Better try to keep the dresses as colorful as possible. They will help distracting the viewers and hence give an illusion of a beautiful “fotoo”.

E for Eyes: Since beauty lies in the eyes of the beholder, we now have one more source of possible error in judgement. What you can do is ask the person who is NOT admiring your snap to get his eyes checked by some GEEK.

141

F for Focus: The need of the hour is focus! Many a times, it’s the cameraman who is the main culprit. Its the cameraman who needs to make sure he focuses on the subject rather than the distracting objects around it. So, before getting the snaps clicked, make sure that even the eyes of the cameraman is checked thoroughly.

G for Groups: Always try to take pictures in groups such as siblings, grandparents, etc cos that will cover the most of ur pic and the backdrop that you don’t want to show.

H for Hand: This is really tough. Many a times, I am left wondering where to hang my hands. Should I place them on my kamara.. sorry kamar (waist)! Should I cross them behind my back or hold them in front. So, I just let them hang and look lost and maybe that’s another of the reason for the fiasco in the name of my snap! So always get close ups of people using their hands. This would be great for sports, sewing, cooking or body language when talking.

I for Innovation: You can innovate new ideas to collect all beautiful items (things) around you and arrange in a fashion that can help create a mirage of a perfect picture! Think, innovate and change the world! Capture what makes each person unique. Just remember every quirk is fair game!

J for Just, K for Korrect and L for Lights: Just Korrect Lights (any spelling mistake is to be attributed to my recent English classes). Light follows a peculiar path when it falls on me. Either it reflects badly and gives me a ghostly and ghastly look or it refuses to reach me leaving me in dark. I am still looking for the KORRECT kind of light.

M for Mood: This one is very important. Professor of moodolgy, Doctor Mood pecker says that YOUR mood controls the way the camera reacts to you. The better mood you are in, the better will be your photo. So, when you are feeling blue, all you have to do is stay away from anything that resembles camera. Besides use mirrors, windows, and reflective surfaces to add a fun and unusual effect to your photos.

N for Normal: Agreed. Fine. Being normal helps. No point in being conscious of an inanimate thing like camera. Be cool, be calm and don’t run for the cover or the mirror when someone says “cheese”. It’s so easy to advice but why can’t I ever follow it. But also remember that the suns natural light is the most flattering light for any subject.

photographer

O for Outdoors: whenever you are clicking pics in outdoors, try to use natural backgrounds as your setting so that you can utilize the best available light..

P for Pose: Some like to pose with their hand on their cheek with a pen in tow. Some like to stand by the window. Some sit in café coffee day. Some just smile. Some stand by the river, some by a tree. Some hang from a pole. Some try to hold on to their hats. Some decide to show only their forehead in their photo. You can pick and chose and experiment. A good pose will get you a good applause.

Q for Quickie: By virtue of experiments, it has been proved that a quickly taken snap comes out more natural than the one that takes a lot of time. So, quickies are always good! Be quick with your camera, you don’t want to miss a thing.

R for Ridiculous, S for Smile: I tried it all. If I show my teeth, they take up majority of the frame. If I don’t show, it looks that I am eating some rosogulla! So, how much smile is too much smile? I am yet to discover. But smile is a must.

T for Technology: Well, if the snap is really bad, we can always take the help of Photoshop! Give it a hazy look. Make some frame of flowers around you. Color the hair. Make your snap Black and White. And Aila! Your pic can be the pick of the year!

24

U for yourself: You shouldn’t always be the one with the camera, pass it off or use self timers so that you are included in shots. Whenever possible, grab the next person in sight who is much less photogenic than you. The end result would be a charming YOU!

V for Variety: Use you camera and your imagination to capture the wildest pic possible. Show someone with plateful of chicken or sneezing…


W for Weather: Ever realized how beautiful weathers are in our country?? Include all the seasons in your photos…

 X for extreme Close ups: Get close enough to see the freckles or the left-over Birthday cake but beware sometimes it may result in slaps ;).

Y for Youthfulness: Catch kids’ high jinks and scrapes. If your first impulse is to scold, try snapping instead.

Z for Zoom: Use your zoom lens when you are far away to catch candid moments. This feature is must for Birdwatchers or one who want to catch some really funny moments.

Phew!!! After all this research, I have understood one fact – that photography is not that easy……But what we need is practice and patience..

So now leave this write up.

Grab your camera and click some pics…

Comments
  1. karishma says:

    This write up was very informative..every word very true..I liked the description given under Letter U..that is the safest option always available!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

